Latest Post

SCB 2018 Service Awards Nominations

Deadline: 15 March 2017.

Do you know someone who deserves recognition for a special achievement in conservation or for significant contributions to the field of conservation biology? Nominate them for an SCB Service Award! Winners will be recognized in front of their peers at SCB congresses between June and October 2018.

SCB is excited to accept nominations from its members and other conservation professionals until 15 March 2017.

Nine SCB Groups will present awards in 2018 at SCB congresses:
  • North America Section to present LaRoe Award at NACCB in Toronto, Canada
  • Oceania Section to present a Distinguished Service Award (DSA) at OCCB in Wellington, New Zealand
  • LACA Section to present DSA at LACCCB in Trinidad and Tobago.
  • Europe Section to present a DSA named after Ilkka Hanski at ECCB in Jyväskylä, Finland
  • Asia Section to present a DSA award at Conservation Asia 2018 in Biskek, Kyrgyz Republic
  • Marine Section to present an Early Career Conservationist award at IMCC5 in Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
  • Social Science and Conservation Genetic Working Groups to present Early Career Conservationist awards at NACCB.
  • Conservation Marketing & Engagement Working Group (ConsMark) to present its Distinguished Service Award known as the Building Nature’s Brand Award (the Brandy Award) at the ConsMark meeting in Arlington, Virginia, USA in October.

To nominate an individual or institution for an award, complete and return the awards nomination form and two letters of support to [email protected].

Questions? Please contact your Section or Working Group’s representative on the SCB Awards Committee (below) or SCB Awards Committee Chair Carolyn Lundquist. Use “SCB Service Awards” in your subject line.
SCB Service Award Types
  • Distinguished Service Award: Recognizes individuals, groups or institutions for distinguished service in any field associated with conservation biology and whose work has furthered the mission of SCB. Individuals may also be nominated for the following special categories of Distinguished Service Awards.
    • The Edward T. LaRoe III Memorial Award: Given to an individual who has been a leader in translating principles of conservation biology into real-world conservation. Preference is given to employees of government agencies or individuals who have spent at least part of their career in public service. The intention of the award is to recognize the innovative application of science to resource management and policy.
    • The Early Career Conservationist Award: Honors achievements in conservation by professionals early in their careers (no more than 10 years since leaving school). SCB does not apply an age criteria in order to enable eligibility for individuals who might have come to conservation as a second career.
    • The Conservation Beacon Award: Recognizes women of marginalized and multiply marginalized status that are traditionally under-served within higher education.  Inclusive of this group are women of colour, low socioeconomic status, women with disabilities, trans women, first generation women scholars, lesbians and other intersections that result in under-served women in higher education.
The SCB Awards Committee reserves the right to shift a candidate from one award category to another.